Denise Julia releases debut album, Sweet Nothings Chapter 1

The R&B newcomer celebrates love “in all its beautiful complexities”

Multi-talented recording star Denise Julia continues to shape the trajectory of Filipino R&B with her debut mini-album, Sweet Nothings (Chapter 1), out this Friday, November 17, 2023, via Sony Music Entertainment.

Nestled between effortless cool and feminine grace, the hitmaker’s 7-track record essays the highs and lows of romantic commitment in the era of perpetual screentime and brief attention spans.

With a sweet voice that flutters gently above sonic flourishes, Denise Julia speaks her mind with wisdom beyond her years, delivering the material as if it were part of her own joy, pain, and experience.

“This album isn't just a bunch of songs; it's like a journey through all the different parts of love—from the exciting beginnings to the tough endings, and finally, to those sweet, lingering moments,” the NVMD artist reveals in a statement. "Sweet Nothings is like looking back at my own experiences and the stories from others that touched me. It's like a musical trip exploring the different sides of love.”

Combining R&B sensibilities with a modern touch of jazzy soundscapes, hip-hop beats, and suave instrumentation, Denise Julia takes reign of her narrative as she deals with different facets of love: the rough parts, the reassuringly sweet edges, and the meaty center, all of which make the experience worth rummaging for. As the young music icon explains it, “Each song talks about a different part of this feeling we all know.”

Denise Julia’s new album features production from her constant and trusted collaborators, including Joel Tracks, a prolific producer based in Nigeria; J.Greg and Duaneinsane, who played pivotal roles in bringing her vision to life; and Neo Cruz, who is responsible for making “Butterflies” a sultry number with signature smooth melodies.

Norwegian-Filipina artist and multi-instrumentalist HILLARI and acclaimed alt-R&B experimentalist Jason Dhakal also join Denise Julia on “Roster” and “Bum 2 Me,” respectively, adding an interesting dimension to the album’s delicately sparse but genuinely sophisticated sound.

There’s also the inescapable crossover hit “B.A.D.,” featuring acclaimed rapper P-Lo, whose style and flow complement Julia’s incredible vocal chops. To date, the catchy R&B jam has racked up more than 2 million streams on Spotify since its release, peaking at No. 66 and still going strong.

“Working alongside these musical geniuses was a transformative experience, offering me invaluable insights and learnings,” the R&B sensation shares. ‘Their expertise and creativity elevated the project to new heights, and I am truly grateful for the collaborative synergy that shaped the outcome.”

The album’s focus track, “Lackin’,” serves as another highlight: an airy lullaby that was inspired by one of her dreams. Denise Julia told her producers about how the dream felt like a “ghost in her mind” and that she had to immediately write the track over that ringing, familiar melody.

She adds, “I remember the pressure and excitement during the studio session, especially in the intro. This track stands out as one of my best-written pieces, capturing the raw emotion of a relationship where one person was lacking, yet I expressed the belief that the tables would turn and they'd crave my presence in return.”

Check out the Sweet Nothings (Chapter 1) track list:

B.A.D. (Feat. P-Lo)


Sugar n’ Spice

bum 2 me (Feat. Jason Dhakal)

Roster (Feat. Hillari)


butterflies (2 a.m. Version)

Album cover art:

Denise Julia’s debut mini album, Sweet Nothings (Chapter 1) is out now on all digital music platforms worldwide via Sony Music Entertainment.

Special thanks to Denise Julia's manager, John Vincent Salcedo and Carissa King, the creative director for all visuals assigned to the project.

Post a Comment


Klikd2. Theme by STS.